Father’s Day – June 16th

It’s Father’s Day! It always brings me good memories. I pull out all the old photos, discolored with age and caught in a time not that long ago.

20130616-130513.jpg

I have such wonderful memories of my Dad, as imperfect as he was. But he was the one built in me a love for some many things, like museums and science, really good books (the classics – like my current read, Pilgrims Progress, cooking and photography. I suspect it is also his from him that I have a appreciation for design and architecture.

20130616-131144.jpg

And even though he has been gone now for 17 years I still have some very good memories and I’m thankful for his presence in my life, although how short it was. In some ways Father’s Day is bittersweet for me, but I imagine it is bittersweet for so many others.

20130616-131550.jpg

And I also have to say I am thankful for another Father in my life. My wonderful Grandpa! He’s 88 and still going strong, still enjoys his golf and still drives. He always makes my laugh; you know; that deep belly laugh that hurts your stomach. And he has the best stories of the old days, so funny!

Happy Father’s Day to all the Fathers! May it be blessed and may you feel deeply loved. Make memories with your children, you never know how much time you will have with them, it could be 88 years or like my Dad; 45 years. I miss you Dad and I love you!

Heather

Leave a Reply

