Pumpkin Purée – November 13th

20131113-203920.jpg

So because I am weird and because I enjoy to challenge myself when it comes to cooking and baking, I decided to make my own pumpkin purée. Forget that canned stuff, not that it’s bad but I wanted to actually wanted to make it myself. Here is the recipe I used, I got it off the Williams-Sonoma website.

Roast the Pumpkins

I decided to roast three, I made sure I got the pie pumpkins and I washed them before I roasted them. Each pumpkin was about 2 lbs.

Place a small whole pumpkin on a baking sheet and roast it in a preheated 350 degree F oven until it can be easily pierced with a knife, 1 to 1 1/2 hours. For a shorter roasting time, slice the pumpkin in half and roast it, cut side down, in 1 inch of water in a baking dish until tender, about 45 minutes.

For my three they were ready in about an hour.

Scoop and Purée

20131113-205339.jpg

Let the pumpkin cool, then cut it in half crosswise (if not already done) and scoop out and discard the seeds. OR you could put the seeds on a baking sheet and roast them for about 10 minutes and eat they, very healthy snack!!
Scoop out the flesh with a large spoon and purée the flesh in a blender or food processor or with a food mill.

20131113-205746.jpg

Honestly, the pumpkins were so soft that I really didn’t need to scoop anything, I was just able to peel the skin off and put it into the food processor.

This is what you get after you put the pumpkin through the food processor.

20131113-205942.jpg

Tomorrow evening I will post the recipe for the totally delicious pumpkin pie I made from the purée I made.

Have a blessed evening!
Heather

Leave a Reply

